Our Board and Patrons

FOSDA’s Governing Council consists of five members with a spread of expertise relevant to the organisation’s activities.

Dr Thomas Jaye (Chairman)

Political scientist and expert on West African human security, Senior Research Fellow at the Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre (KAIPTC).

Mrs Magdalene Kannae
Expert on gender, social development and local governance, Director of Gender Programmes at the Institute of Local Government Studies.

Dr Moses Mensah
Environmentalist, lecturer at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology.

Ms Amina Montia
Chartered accountant and financial consultant.

Ms Afi Yakubu (Secretary)
Small arms and human security expert.

FOSDA also has several patrons supporting its work

General Emmanuel Erskine
Retired Ghanaian soldier and politician. Former Chief of Army Staff of the Ghana army, also a former commander of the United Nations Truce Supervision Organization (UNTSO) and the United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon (UNIFIL).

Dr Mohamed Ibn Chambas
Secretary-General of the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Group of States. A lawyer, diplomat, politician and academic, he was President of the Commission of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) from 2007 to 2010, after serving his government in several positions, including as a Member of the Ghanaian Parliament.